Dear Charlie!

Dear Charlie,
You remember me? Remember you used to write letters to your Anonymous ‘Friend’, I am that friend! Though, you wrote into your last letter that I shouldn’t worry about you and you’ll be fine, yet, I really miss you sometimes. You won’t believe what those letters meant to me, I used to eagerly wait for them. When you wrote about happy things, how everything in my life turned beautiful, and how I cried sometimes when you faced difficulties. Charlie, you are really special. I could relate sooo deeply to you, I felt like I found me in your letters. I found my exact replica in you! All that you felt, all that you thought in different situations, I felt like I have been there too.

The way you get overwhelmed with little things and eventually if you ignore them, they become impossible to handle, the way you pick up clues that people hardly even notice, the way you soak up everyone’s emotions like a Sponge! The way you end up crying on everything you deeply feel, you know what, I LOVE THAT ABOUT YOU. ‘Cause you ain’t afraid to be how you really are, you are the purest soul I’ve ever known, crying doesn’t make you any weaker. Never feel guilty about being different or weird, you are perfect that way, embrace your uniqueness. ❤

I never heard of the word “Wallflower” until when you mentioned what your friends said one day, “Charlie’s a Wallflower. You see things. You keep quiet about them. And you understand.” True. Quiet people do observe, and a LOT. And we never speak a word about them. How you managed to keep so many secrets safe with you, haha! I was also really happy that you found friends: real, beautiful friends! And most importantly, they accepted you just the way you are, in your last letters you mentioned how you finally felt a sense of belongingness, how walking with Sam and Patrick by your sides, you felt for the first time that you belonged somewhere. Oh God! You make me sooo emotional, I will do anything to have that feeling for once in my life! 😻

You are such a beautiful person, Charlie. The way you think a lot about anything and everything, the way you get panicky and stressed out, hehe, sweeet! The way you love people, the way you buy gifts for them, they’re not just gifts, they’re a part of your heart. I remember you gifted all your favourite books to Sam and Patrick, that makes me happpy happy happpy!! ☺ And even when you came to know the truth about Aunt Helen, you still couldn’t hate her or think bad about her, you still loved her unconditionally. That’s so true, we can never hate someone whom we loved once with all our heart.

Bill once said, “I just want you to know that you’re very special… and the only reason I’m telling you is that I don’t know if anyone else ever has.” And how you started crying after hearing those words from your teacher. I know how it feels. It’s sooo amazing to know that someone acknowledged you, someone understood you, someone accepted you, someone appreciated your presence, inspite of you being so hard on yourself all the time, someone was so nice to you. That feeling is out of the world! ☺

I am so glad you did not go with Mary Elizabeth. I am glad you remembered what your Dad told you, “We accept the love we think we deserve.” I am so happy you held onto Sam, you always loved her, you definitely deserve her. But what she said was true too, “You can’t just sit there and put everyone’s lives ahead of yours and think that counts as love. You just can’t. You have to do things.” She is so right here. You have to think about yourself too sometimes. Never always keep people’s needs first. But that’s how we are, I wish we could help that feeling.

It was such an amazing experience knowing you, Charlie. You are the truest person and the finest soul I’ve known in my entire life. You have the purest heart, the heart of gold, who doesn’t fake things, who doesn’t really know how to fake things! Who loves truly and completely. I soo love youuuu! ❤ I wish I would’ve found someone like you in real life. How we would’ve been the bestest of friends, how we would’ve discussed books all the time and felt infinite listening to records and music. I wish you were real.

I want you to remember, just because you are quiet, that doesn’t mean you’re weak. You are stronger than you think. Remember, how you punched Brad and his friends when they misbehaved with Patrick? I liked that, you stand up to protect your loved ones, you cannot stand a word against them, how adorable that is! 😄

Lastly, I would just say one thing, Never change, Charlie. You are perfect just the way you are. You touched my heart, you made a really special place in my heart. I hope you’re fine wherever you are, I hope you’ve found some friends in your high school. Just remember, YOU ARE SPECIAL. And there’s nothing, really nothing wrong with you. Do not think twice if you want to write to me. I’d love to read from you. Thankyou for everything, Charlie. You made me feel INFINITE! 😻

Take care.
Love always,
Firefly ⭐

(Written to Charlie, from the book: “The Perks of being a Wallflower“)

24 thoughts on “Dear Charlie!

Add yours

    1. Hehe, yes I did. ☺ It’s a really short book, 150 pages max, yet, it’s so intense. There’s this character Charlie who won my heart, it’s all about this socially awkward teenager ‘Charlie’, and his life, how he finds some really good friends, how he performs in various situations. It’s a series of letters. I just love him. ☺❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

