The Greatest Fear!

Hello people! Since the last few days, I wasn’t getting anything to write about. But yayy, I found some ammmmazing writing prompts. ๐Ÿ˜ป So, for the next few days, I will stick to them. โ˜บ

You’re locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.

I’m sharing a picture of my greatest fear, let’s see if you can identify. ๐Ÿ˜‚

image

Okay, so if I’m locked in a room, and I turn back to find this kind of a situation, I will literally faint. ๐Ÿ˜ต I can do anything but this. Public speaking has always terrified me. It’s not like I haven’t been on the stage, I have done this so many times in school and even in college, but still, this ‘stage-fear’ always persists. Everytime I am asked to speak, I feel the goosebumps rising and I start panicking, there’s no *OFF* switch to it. ๐Ÿ˜จ

So, when I’m standing there, I see hoard of people comfortably sitting back on their chairs and gazing at me intently, waiting for me to speak. I think it’s kind of extempore or something.

And while I am looking at them, I am thinking, “You people! I hate those smiling, carefree faces. It’s because you weren’t asked to speak that you’re so happy. Come and stand at my place, then let me see you laugh! ๐Ÿ˜’”

Before me, stands a mic. A happy, jolly, proud mic! He has seen lots of great people in his life, he has watched many glorious speeches with his own eyes. He is the tool of great leaders!

And now he is staring at me, with his slow, inviting smile, I feel like he’s challenging me, “Can you even speak?” That makes me shiver to death. It rattles my bones. My forehead, by now, is a puddle of sweat. Every single cell of my body is regretting my mere existence! Like all of me wants to disintegrate into infinite tiny particles! ๐Ÿ˜Ÿ

As I raise my eyes, I still find those people gazing back. They’re watching my moves, they’re peeking into my insecurities. All of a sudden, I realise I have no cue cards, no kind of written help. And I freak out again. ๐Ÿ˜ผ

Finally, when I find no escape, I decide to speak. But!!!! ๐Ÿ˜จ I can see nothing, I can hear nothing, I can feel nothing. Everything’s fading away, everything’s turning black. When I open my eyes, I find myself in the ‘Sick-room’, resting comfortably, they tell me that I fainted. Oooo, thank God, I am saved from that terrible situation. ๐Ÿ˜ป

Anyways, this fainting wala thing has never happened honestly. ๐Ÿ˜‚ I just wanted to describe what I feel like when I’m in that situation. So, have any of you felt that way? What is your greatest fear? Do share in the comments section. โ˜บโ˜บ

-Firefly. ๐Ÿค“

20 thoughts on “The Greatest Fear!

Add yours

  1. voila :D i can’t imagine that you can fear this.. i believe you will be very confident while giving speech :D.. though everyone gets nervous a bit while facing these moments, but your explanation of the situation created the live scene in front of me and i was shivering imagining the same happen to me lol.. honestly i will chose any punishment if giving option to select the speech thing or the punishment :P.. and about my fear, i have already told you ,, so don’t want to feel more embarrassed by telling here again lol..

    stay blessed ..keep rocking :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yayyyy! Shukriyaaa Bunnnny! ๐Ÿ˜ป And I can’t imagine that you can be scared of what you told me yesterday. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

      And seriously? You were shivering? ๐Ÿ˜น๐Ÿ˜น I am so glad to hear that huh. I did my work perfectly then. ๐Ÿ˜‚

      You’re so right, I will stand in the sun for whole day, or I’ll quit eating for few days, but I won’t walk up to the stage and speak. ๐Ÿ˜‚

      And yes, I won’t reveal your fears here. ๐Ÿค“ You stay smileyy, and keep shining tooo. ๐Ÿ˜‡โค

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Haha i am seriously afraid of that thing..Don’t make fun of me now for that ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜..
      And yeah it’s perfectly written post..Loved it ๐Ÿ˜€..But as i said i am sure you will handle the stage appearing thing with confidence and you will rock ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‡..

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Awww! Thankyou again, Bunny. ๐Ÿค— And you’re sure, but I’m not. We’ll see jab time ayega toh. ๐Ÿ˜น Anyways, shukriyaa for your sweeeet comment. ๐Ÿ˜‡

      Like

  2. I used to have be scared of public speaking too. It was a gradual process but I conquered it. My usual mock sessions in front of my mirror might have done the trick! During my eleventh grade, I got lucky and came second in an extempore competition! That gave me so much confidence. By the time I reached college, I used to love participating in such competitions. So maybe one day, you can overcome this fear too, Chandni! Don’t lose hope. Don’t stop trying. ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Btw, my greatest fear would be getting locked in a room with a spider! I’m so scared of spiders! ๐Ÿ˜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hii Shweta! โ˜บโ˜บ And really? Does this mirror wala trick work? ๐Ÿ˜ƒ Congratulations, you overcame this big fear. I will try speaking to the mirror too then. ๐Ÿ˜‚

      And spiders!! ๐Ÿ•ท Haww, that’s interesting, Shweta! ๐Ÿค“ In my case, if I have spiders sitting on those chairs instead of people, I can speak all day long then. ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

    2. *used to be scared
      Yes. I think it might work. Just believe in yourself and keep going! ๐Ÿ˜Š
      Try concentrating on a point just above the people’s heads. They’ll feel as if you’re maintaining eye contact but you won’t feel intimidated! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Yes. I can totally relate to Ron Weasley in chamber of secrets. ๐Ÿ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Well,for me….Yes,I’ve had those scary moments back in school days…But,as a college student,now,I feel better on stage.Yes,I can speak it,or maybe speak it out.But I do feel need of hints,,,jotted down imperfectly on a paper!!…It keeps me organised…It is hard to think in promptu there,,,but a cool mind is all you need…Also,to add on…I have participated in two district level competitions,,,and in the first attempt I was ranked third,,,in the next,however,I stole the trophy!!!
    .
    Well,about the post…It has that ‘mazaeedaar’ element in it,,,and you already know I love that!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, exactly! Spontaneous speaking is difficult. We need aome hints atleast. ๐Ÿ˜…
      And yayyy! Mr Speaker, haha!Congratulations for those trophies. โ˜บ

      And I’m glad, thankyou for appreciating. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Well…Don’t think I will give you a share of my trophies!!!!!
      Haha…
      Waisay….they are made of bronze actually na…
      Had they been of chocolate vanilla. …fir maiii sochtaaaa!!!
      Haha…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My anger is my greatest fear. Whenever it comes to me, I lose all my senses.

    I hope you overcome your fear of public speaking. Though this fear is normal. And I know, you’ll get along with it and be better. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜‡

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ooooo common chandni from the 10 th standard debate to the college event .you have really improved yourself as a speaker. The confidence within u was completely onto the another during level during the college events so stop saying that and the real champions always r the one who fight against their fear

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

